Starting a Small Business in Ireland

I have recently started a new small business here in Ireland and have being going through the official processes to get it up and running in the proper fashion.

According to the ‘Ease of Doing Business Index‘ which is compiled by the World Bank (2012), Ireland places as the 10th highest country in the world in terms of how easy it is to do business. This ranking takes into consideration factors such as the actual start-up of the business, employing workers, paying taxes, enforcing contracts, property rights, getting credit, various issues with regards to registration / official documentation, and so on.

You can review a Reuters article on this subject which gives more details, here:

and see the actual report by the World Bank at this link:

From my own point of view, this index ranking seems fairly accurate because so far it has been plain sailing for me in completing the various steps necessary, notwithstanding the fact that there have been delays of my own making due to me being busy with college and personal matters.

I was originally running the business (which is concerned with the rental of equipment) on a ‘cash in hand’ basis. A lot of small businesses begin using such methods and this is perfectly acceptable in the very short term. However, the clients I was dealing with did not want this situation to continue: they preferred to do business with a registered enterprise and so it was time to legitimize the situation.

About Adam Byrne

Freelance Entrepreneur
This entry was posted in Business and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Starting a Small Business in Ireland

  1. aideenleacy says:

    Really enjoyed that. It’s funny how the venture managers are studying business start up yet if you asked one us to set one up tomorrow we wouldn’t have a clue where to start. You’re really vague on the business? Is that because you don’t want the idea to be taken or? Very informative

  2. adamabyss says:

    Thanks Aideen, I just wanted to focus on what you have to actually go through to get registered and so on because it’s the same for most businesses. The process is pretty boring but it’s unavoidable. Having said that, it is a fairly smooth procedure in Ireland as compared to some other places where I have worked. I will do a blog posting on the actual nature of my business itself at a later date in the near future.

  3. Paddy says:

    Adam, I enjoyed the blog and found it very informative. I the back of my mind I expected the set up process to be quite onerous but it sounds like it was quite an easy task. Good look with the venture, let me know what equipment you are leasing. I may require your services in the future or I can reccomend them to others.

  4. John Cullen. says:

    Congrats on the first post Adam. I think this is something that a lot of people will get real value out of. I remember being a little scared when I first set something up myself but it really shouldn’t have been the case. Maybe if blogs like yours had been around at the time it would have helped ease the nerves!

    • adamabyss says:

      Thanks John,

      I had a personal blog back in 2005 but removed it for various reasons – it rubbed some people up the wrong way. However, I did save the large amount of posts for posterity and one day I will read them again or pass them on. It can be quite a painful revelation of one’s innermost thoughts – a therapy of sorts (in my opinion).

      Blog technology hasn’t change much since those days. I guess there are only so many ways you can present the written word. This blog will be sticking to business matters. I hope I can discipline myself to regular updates.

      Regards,

      Adam.

Leave a Reply

